Ranger of the Year

One of the highlights of the NFRA Conference is the ‘Ranger of the Year’ Award celebration. This award was originated by NFRA with official approval of the Forest Service in 1982, and the Bureau of Land Management in 1987. The purpose is to recognize the personal dedication of field personnel working in the realm of recreation management. This is our opportunity to show our appreciation of outstanding individuals by nominating candidates for the award. The nominee selected will be honored at the Conference.

Final selection is made by NFRA’s Board of Judges chaired by NFRA’s President.

The Award is based on the following:

  • Dedication to duties and cooperation with private parties and permit holders using America’s public lands for recreational purposes.
  • Specific accomplishments relating to service to the public.
  • Participation in local community affairs.

Who is Eligible?

Any Forest Service or Bureau of Land Management employee from any Field Office or Resource Area is eligible. The nominee does not need to be a “Ranger.”

Who May Nominate?
Any private citizen using public lands for authorized recreation purposes is encouraged to nominate.

What to Submit?
Complete the Nomination Form, along with:

  • One or more letters of nomination including biographical information and descriptions of specific actions of the nominee leading to better recreational service to visitors to public land.
  • Testimonial letters from public lands users and local officials about the nominee’s role in events that further the public service mission of the Forest Service or the Bureau of Land Management.
  • Documentation of any previous awards or citations the nominee has received.
  • At least one individual photo for publicity purposes.

Please send entries to:
National Forest Recreation Association
P.O. Box 488
Woodlake, CA 93286
e-mail: info@nfra.org